The random musings of George Lane... Marketing, Business, Plumbing and working out what the hell's going on

Adwords Phishing Scam

Posted: April 20th, 2009 | Author: George-Lane | Filed under: Uncategorized | No Comments »

This is important and could save you a big headache…

I was doing competition & market research on Google and found this little ad when I searched for “adwords”:

close-up

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

It looks like an Ad to grab people making navigational searches to access their Adwords accounts.

When you click on it (which I DO NOT recommend – the site may install sneaky malware), you’re taken to this page:

full-page-compressed

Click to enlarge

Which to the casual observer is the Adwords home page.

It’s not.

The actual page is “adwordsgooglen.com”, not the official Google Adwords site.

Now, I don’t want to make unfounded accusations here, but this site looks, sounds and smells like a phishing site.

In fact it stinks of “phish”.

I’m guessing its purpose is to fool unsuspecting visitors into giving away their Adwords login details to unscrupulous individuals.

  • I suggest you’re very careful when you navigate to your Adwords account. Here are a couple of tips:
  • Type the Adwords URL directly into your browser: http://adwords.google.com.

If you must do navigational searches to access your Adwords account, check the domain name is adwords.google.com (or your local equivalent: such as adwords.google.co.uk).

Right. I’m off to report this to Google. Who’s with me?

Cheers,

George



Leave a Reply

If you'd like to add your thoughts and perceptions to the posts, please feel free. I do moderate comments so spam or insults won't get through (unless of course the insults are particularly witty, eloquent or surreal).